Camp NaNoWriMo Update

Hello everyone! I just wanted to drop by and give you a quick update on my Camp NaNo Progress.

This morning I finished going over, trashing and rewriting the last three (YES THREE!) chapters that were throwing me off. The flow was so horrible that I couldn’t do much with what I had…but now I’ve basically trashed the equivalent of two chapters and rewritten what was left into something that I actually like. For the first time in over a week, I don’t feel like I’m forcing the story. I can feel the ideas bumping, maturing, and floating in the back of my brain, waiting for me to pick up my blue glittery pen and get back at it. The world and it’s legends are growing in my head again and I am so excited about that!

I also have a new picture book/children’s book idea that cropped up a few days ago and I finally started work on it last night. 206 words in I’m not sure where it’s going but I am digging where it is. Between The Way We Were, Sock Jacked, some random writing,  and the new picture book my current Camp word count is 13,778. Since my beginning aim was 15,000 words….I may even up my month’s goal. How weird would that be?

Even though I’ve felt incredibly down about life in general, and my writing specifically, for the past few days I am actually feeling really optimistic and excited about my stories again. I can’t wait to get back to them. In fact, if you will please excuse me, I’m going to go do just that. I have worlds to create and words to twist.

While I’m off doing that, I would love for you to leave a comment or two telling me what you’ve been up to lately!

Have a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

