Writing: News and Notes

Hello everyone! I hope that you have been having a fabulous summer so far. I know that I haven’t been around all that often in recent memory, but I hope to change that this next month. July is the next session of Camp NaNoWriMo and I am definitely participating!

I will be working on my new(ish) Work in Progress “Sock Jacked”. Sock Jacked is a Middle Grade Thriller-esque novel set in Summer on the beach of a large lake. The chills help me to stay cool in this heat and this heat helps me to write about the beginning of summer. I don’t want to say that this is the PERFECT Camp WIP…oh wait, I DO Want to say that!

I am completely in love with this story. In fact, for the first time in a long time, I am only working on one story because Sock Jacked has me intrigued and delighted to keep putting blue pen to paper. My worst issue with this is that, since I write all first drafts by hand, I’ve gone through 4 blue pens already and am maybe almost 1/4 of the way through the story. I only have 3 blue pens left and the type of pen I’ve been using can only be found in this area in a LARGE set of multi colored gel pens…not on their own. *Sigh* The problems of being an OCD author are real guys.

I have also been using a small sketch notebook and setting up a monthly tracker for word counts, daily notes on my writing, etc. I am really enjoying setting up each month’s tracker, choosing a word count goal for the month, writing down each day’s word count (or lack there of), and keeping notes on what I wrote, what helped motivate me, or why I’m a lazy bum! (There’s been a lot of that going on too! My poor heart can only take so much sometimes lol)

So that’s all the things I’ve been up to lately, and will be up to in the next month. What are you up to? I would love to hear from you!

Happy Writing all!

4 thoughts on “Writing: News and Notes

    • I did know that lol. There’s “always” been some version of a word count/goal tracker but I’m tracking from month to month with notes on productive days, non-productive days, side projects I may have started, etc. I like having it available whenever I want! Glad to hear someone else uses a notebook…most people I know just use the tracker or a computer app lol.

      Thank you! It was originally “The Great Sock Jacking” and evolved…I love it šŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

