Not sure where (or if) this piece fits in anything I’ve been working on, but as I was driving down the road (following the moon home for real) this morning after dropping my sick child with my parents…this came flowing down on a moonbeam that mingled with the rising sun. I think it works. What do you think? Are you ever inspired by the moon?

 

To My Lost Love (that I never really had)

I’m driving down the road, following the moon home, and you come (unbidden) to my mind once again. When the phone went off at 4:30 this morning, I still had a split second of hope that it was you. I do that every time. Before reality descends in a crashing wave around me I think, maybe…just maybe. Alas, it was not you. It rarely is. And yet, you are still my 3am and my 2 pm. My lonely thoughts and my busy side note. When I see something funny, or a new movie you’d like…when I finally read that book or watch that show…I want to call you. I want to rail on you because it’s your fault I’m addicted to it now. I place the blame squarely on you for at least 2 of my current binge watching shows and 1 of the book series I’m devouring. You seeped into every aspect of my life, even the parts you were never present for. I miss you so much it sometimes physically hurts in the area of my chest where a heart should be. A dull, empty ache. I hope that you are doing well, that sometimes I’m your random side thought, and that you find whatever it is you are looking for.

                                                 With my heart,

                                            The one who ran away

Leave a Reply

